Japan adds 18 more countries to its travel ban list, effective from July 1

Citing the spread of the coronavirus infections in the country, the Japanese government announced adding a further 18 countries to its list of the entry ban, which comes into effect from July 1. This brings the travel ban to 129 countries.

Foreign nationals, who have stayed in these countries within 14 days prior to the application to arrive, will be denied entry to Japan.

Across the country, the confirmed COVID-19 cases increased by 107 to reach 18,516, according to the latest figures from the Health Ministry and local authorities on Sunday.

Economy Minister Yasutoshi Nishimura said that the government had no plan to reinstate a state of emergency for the time being.

Market reaction

The risk-on sentiment remains the key theme in Asia this Tuesday, as markets shrug off the rising coronavirus second wave fears, as they gear up for the first-tier global macro updates for fresh cues on the economic prospects.

USD/JPY is slightly off the highs and trades around 107.70, up 0.12% on a daily basis while looking to regain the 108 handle amid a 2% rally in the Japanese stocks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Translate »